ToolProven
Search tools and lists/All lists
We earn a commission if you buy through some links. It never changes a score or a rank.How we test →

Udemy vs Codecademy

Two of the 20 online learning platforms in our ranking, compared fact by fact — every price and feature read from each maker's own pages on Oct 23, 2026.

Udemy
Self-paced learners who like buying single courses or a plan
8.8
#1
Udemy pricing & features
Codecademy
Beginners learning to code with a free tier to start
6.5
#7
Codecademy pricing & features

The short answer

  • Higher scoreUdemy — 8.8 vs 6.5 (#1 vs #7 of 20)
  • Cheaper entry planUdemy — $13/mo vs $14.99/mo, billed yearly
  • Free planBoth publish one
  • Only Udemy confirmsOffline app and Open to instructors

Side by side

UdemyCodecademy
Score8.8/10 · #1 of 206.5/10 · #7 of 20
Pricing modelFreemiumFreemium
Paid from$13/mo“Starting at $13.00/month” — udemy.com/pricing$14.99/mo, billed yearly (Plus)“$14.99 a month, billed annually or $29.99 billed monthly” — codecademy.com/pricing
Free plan✓ Yes✓ Yes
Free trialNot publishedOffered, length not stated
Certificates✓ Yes✓ Yes
Degrees / credit– Not published– Not published
All-access plan✓ Yes✓ Yes
Offline app✓ Yes– Not published
Open to instructors✓ Yes– Not published
Why it ranksAnyone can apply to teach, and courses can be viewed offline in the mobile app.Plus is $14.99/month billed annually and includes completion certificates.
Watch forThe $13.00/month price is a 'starting at' figure, with billing cadence not specified.Certificates are not available under the free Basic plan.

Keep comparing

Udemy alternatives →Codecademy alternatives →All 20 ranked →
Udemy vs Coursera#1 vs #3 · $13/mo vs $399/yrUdemy vs DataCamp#1 vs #4 · $13/mo vs $14/mo · yearlyUdemy vs Udacity#1 vs #6 · $13/mo vs $212/moCoursera vs DataCamp#3 vs #4 · $399/yr vs $14/mo · yearlyCoursera vs Codecademy#3 vs #7 · $399/yr vs $14.99/mo · yearly