ToolProven
Search tools and lists/All lists
We earn a commission if you buy through some links. It never changes a score or a rank.How we test →

Best Online Learning Platforms in 2026

Online learning platforms where you take courses from many instructors and universities, compared on what each publishes: free courses, starting price and five learner features.

Compared
20
Facts read
81
Read on
Oct 23
1

Udemy

✓ Champion
Self-paced learners who like buying single courses or a plan

Course marketplace with free courses, a Personal Plan subscription over 28,000+ courses, and open instructor sign-up.

8.8
out of 10
Pricing
Freemium
Free plan
Yes
Free trial
Not published
Paid from
$13/mo
  • ✓Certificates
  • –Degrees / credit
  • ✓All-access plan
  • ✓Offline app
  • ✓Open to instructors
Why #1
Anyone can apply to teach, and courses can be viewed offline in the mobile app.
Watch for
The $13.00/month price is a 'starting at' figure, with billing cadence not specified.
Score: features 4.0 · free access 1.5 · price published 1.5 · value 1.75
2

FutureLearn

Best free
Learners wanting UK-university short courses and online degrees

Short-course marketplace with a free limited tier, an Unlimited subscription and listed online degrees.

6.9
out of 10
Pricing
Freemium
Free plan
Yes
Free trial
Not published
Paid from
$349.99/yr
  • ✓Certificates
  • ✓Degrees / credit
  • ✓All-access plan
  • –Offline app
  • –Open to instructors
Why #2
A free limited tier exists and Unlimited Annual lists at $349.99 per year.
Watch for
Free tier gives no certificates and no access after course completion.
Read Oct 23, 2026 from futurelearn.com
Score: features 3.0 · free access 1.5 · price published 1.5 · value 0.88
3

Coursera

Best for degrees and credit
Learners who want certificates from universities and companies

Course marketplace with a Coursera Plus subscription covering unlimited certificates; degrees are sold separately.

6.8
out of 10
Pricing
Freemium
Free plan
Yes
Free trial
7 days
Paid from
$399/yr
  • ✓Certificates
  • ✓Degrees / credit
  • ✓All-access plan
  • –Offline app
  • –Open to instructors
Why #3
Coursera Plus is $399/year with unlimited certificates; degrees are listed from accredited universities.
Watch for
Coursera Plus does not include degrees or MasterTrack programs.
Score: features 3.0 · free access 1.5 · price published 1.5 · value 0.75
4
Data learners who want a free first chapter before paying

Data and AI course subscription; free account covers first chapters.

6.6
out of 10
Pricing
Freemium
Free plan
Yes
Free trial
Not published
Paid from
$14/mo, billed yearly
  • ✓Certificates
  • –Degrees / credit
  • ✓All-access plan
  • –Offline app
  • –Open to instructors
Why #4
Premium is $14/month billed annually and includes certificates.
Watch for
Free account only gets the first chapter of courses.
Read Oct 23, 2026 from datacamp.com/pricing
Score: features 2.0 · free access 1.5 · price published 1.5 · value 1.63
5

BBC Maestro

Best value
Learners wanting BBC-produced classes with shareable certificates

Annual membership to 44+ courses; single courses sold for one year of access.

6.5
out of 10
Pricing
Paid
Free plan
Not published
Free trial
Not published
Paid from
$120/yr
  • ✓Certificates
  • –Degrees / credit
  • ✓All-access plan
  • ✓Offline app
  • –Open to instructors
Why #5
Membership lists at $120/year with a shareable certificate and offline lesson downloads in the app.
Watch for
The $72 headline is a 40%-off promo; list price is $120/year.
Read Oct 23, 2026 from bbcmaestro.com, bbcmaestro.com/app
Score: features 3.0 · free access 0.0 · price published 1.5 · value 2.0
6
Learners pursuing career-focused Nanodegree programmes

Nanodegree and course catalog with a monthly subscription covering 500+ courses.

6.5
out of 10
Pricing
Freemium
Free plan
Yes
Free trial
Not published
Paid from
$212/mo
  • ✓Certificates
  • ✓Degrees / credit
  • ✓All-access plan
  • –Offline app
  • –Open to instructors
Why #6
Free programs exist, a graduation certificate comes with each Nanodegree, and a Master's in AI is listed as fully accredited.
Watch for
The headline $106/month is a 50% first-4-months discount on a $212 list price.
Read Oct 23, 2026 from udacity.com/pricing
Score: features 3.0 · free access 1.5 · price published 1.5 · value 0.5
7
Beginners learning to code with a free tier to start

Interactive coding platform with a free Basic plan and paid Plus/Pro subscriptions.

6.5
out of 10
Pricing
Freemium
Free plan
Yes
Free trial
Offered, length not stated
Paid from · Plus
$14.99/mo, billed yearly
  • ✓Certificates
  • –Degrees / credit
  • ✓All-access plan
  • –Offline app
  • –Open to instructors
Why #7
Plus is $14.99/month billed annually and includes completion certificates.
Watch for
Certificates are not available under the free Basic plan.
Read Oct 23, 2026 from codecademy.com/pricing
Score: features 2.0 · free access 1.5 · price published 1.5 · value 1.5
8
Developers wanting a text-based coding course subscription

Subscription to 2300+ text-based courses with Standard and Premium plans.

6.4
out of 10
Pricing
Freemium
Free plan
Yes
Free trial
Not published
Paid from
$298/yr
  • ✓Certificates
  • –Degrees / credit
  • ✓All-access plan
  • –Offline app
  • –Open to instructors
Why #8
Educative lists a few free courses and certificates on every completed course.
Watch for
Standard lists at $298/year; $149 is a limited 50%-off promo.
Read Oct 23, 2026 from educative.io/pricing
Score: features 2.0 · free access 1.5 · price published 1.5 · value 1.38
9
Aspiring data analysts wanting a free plan to start

Data science learning platform with a free plan and a Self-Study plan.

6.0
out of 10
Pricing
Freemium
Free plan
Yes
Free trial
Not published
Paid from · Self-Study
$29/mo
  • ✓Certificates
  • –Degrees / credit
  • ✓All-access plan
  • –Offline app
  • –Open to instructors
Why #9
Self-Study is $29/month with accredited certificates and a 30-day money-back guarantee.
Watch for
The page does not mention a free trial.
Read Oct 23, 2026 from 365datascience.com/pricing
Score: features 2.0 · free access 1.5 · price published 1.5 · value 1.0
10
Learners who want university courses and credit-bearing programmes

University-led marketplace with verified certificates and bachelor's, master's and MicroMasters programmes.

5.5
out of 10
Pricing
Freemium
Free plan
Yes
Free trial
Not published
Paid from
$50 one-time
  • ✓Certificates
  • ✓Degrees / credit
  • –All-access plan
  • –Offline app
  • –Open to instructors
Why #10
Many courses can be audited free, and credit-bearing options are listed.
Watch for
The $50 per-course certificate price is an approximate "around" figure; programme prices are not published there.
Read Oct 23, 2026 from edx.org/certificates, edx.org
Score: features 2.0 · free access 1.5 · price published 1.5 · value 0.5
11
Beginners wanting a coding subscription with a trial

Coding and design video library with a Techdegree bootcamp tier.

5.5
out of 10
Pricing
Free trial
Free plan
Not published
Free trial
7 days
Paid from · Courses
$25/mo
  • ✓Certificates
  • –Degrees / credit
  • ✓All-access plan
  • –Offline app
  • –Open to instructors
Why #11
Courses plan is $25/month with a 7-day free trial.
Watch for
Certificates are tied to the $199/month Techdegree tier.
Read Oct 23, 2026 from teamtreehouse.com/subscribe
Score: features 2.0 · free access 0.75 · price published 1.5 · value 1.25
12
Lifelong learners wanting lecture-style streaming

Streaming lectures from professors by subscription; page still branded The Great Courses Plus.

5.1
out of 10
Pricing
Free trial
Free plan
Not published
Free trial
7 days
Paid from
$150/yr
  • –Certificates
  • –Degrees / credit
  • ✓All-access plan
  • –Offline app
  • –Open to instructors
Why #12
Streams 20,000+ lectures ad-free with a 7-day free trial.
Watch for
Annual lists at $150 (monthly $20); a time-limited offer shows $105 first year / $14 first-year monthly.
Read Oct 23, 2026 from wondrium.com/plans
Score: features 1.0 · free access 0.75 · price published 1.5 · value 1.88
13
Self-taught developers wanting a course academy

Developer course academy with a 30-day money-back guarantee.

4.8
out of 10
Pricing
Paid
Free plan
Not published
Free trial
Not published
Paid from
$25/mo, billed yearly
  • ✓Certificates
  • –Degrees / credit
  • ✓All-access plan
  • –Offline app
  • –Open to instructors
Why #13
Pro Plan is $25/month paid yearly ($299) and includes completion certificates for every course.
Watch for
Page shows a one-time Lifetime Access option at $1,299; the yearly price carries a 49% off tag against $588.
Read Oct 23, 2026 from zerotomastery.io/academy
Score: features 2.0 · free access 0.0 · price published 1.5 · value 1.25
14
Creative learners who want a subscription with certificates

Creative course marketplace with a Plus subscription that includes certificates; teachers apply and are reviewed.

4.6
out of 10
Pricing
Paid
Free plan
Not published
Free trial
Not published
Paid from
$329/yr
  • ✓Certificates
  • –Degrees / credit
  • ✓All-access plan
  • –Offline app
  • ✕Open to instructors
Why #14
Plus members get a certificate for each completed course.
Watch for
Proposals to teach are reviewed by Domestika, so course publishing is not open to anyone.
Score: features 2.0 · free access 0.0 · price published 1.5 · value 1.13
15
Learners wanting free courses, including offline

Free course library with an app that works without internet.

4.5
out of 10
Pricing
Freemium
Free plan
Yes
Free trial
Not published
Paid from
Not published
  • ✓Certificates
  • –Degrees / credit
  • –All-access plan
  • ✓Offline app
  • ✓Open to instructors
Why #15
Lists free courses, an offline app, and a route for anyone to publish a course.
Watch for
Premium is a paid add-on starting at EUR 6.60/month billed yearly; the page lists it for removing ads.
Read Oct 23, 2026 from alison.com, alison.com/publish
Score: features 3.0 · free access 1.5 · price published 0.0 · value 0.0
16
Learners seeking certificates and possible college credit

Course library with certificates of completion and optional college credit.

4.1
out of 10
Pricing
Paid
Free plan
Not published
Free trial
Not published
Paid from
$59.99/mo
  • –Certificates
  • ✓Degrees / credit
  • ✓All-access plan
  • –Offline app
  • –Open to instructors
Why #16
Premium Edition is $59.99/month with unlimited access to 88,000+ video lessons.
Watch for
College Saver credit plans are $95/month and $235/month; the learner subscription has no free tier listed.
Read Oct 23, 2026 from study.com/academy/plans.html
Score: features 2.0 · free access 0.0 · price published 1.5 · value 0.63
17
Learners wanting mentored certificates or master's programmes

Programme catalog with mentored certificates and master's degrees.

3.5
out of 10
Pricing
Freemium
Free plan
Yes
Free trial
Not published
Paid from
Not published
  • ✓Certificates
  • ✓Degrees / credit
  • –All-access plan
  • –Offline app
  • –Open to instructors
Why #17
Lists a 33-programme Professional Certificates category and MSc degrees.
Watch for
No prices appeared on the page read.
Read Oct 23, 2026 from mygreatlearning.com
Score: features 2.0 · free access 1.5 · price published 0.0 · value 0.0
18
Working professionals seeking degree and certificate programmes

Programme catalog of MBA, executive certificates and professional certificates.

3.5
out of 10
Pricing
Freemium
Free plan
Yes
Free trial
Not published
Paid from
Not published
  • ✓Certificates
  • ✓Degrees / credit
  • –All-access plan
  • –Offline app
  • –Open to instructors
Why #18
Lists an MBA from Liverpool John Moores University.
Watch for
No prices appeared on the page read.
Read Oct 23, 2026 from upgrad.com
Score: features 2.0 · free access 1.5 · price published 0.0 · value 0.0
19
Tech professionals who want a skills subscription

Tech skills subscription with Core Tech and Complete plans, a 10-day trial and offline downloads on paid plans.

2.8
out of 10
Pricing
Free trial
Free plan
Not published
Free trial
10 days
Paid from
Not published
  • –Certificates
  • –Degrees / credit
  • ✓All-access plan
  • ✓Offline app
  • ✕Open to instructors
Why #19
Plans include a 10-day free trial and offline course downloads after upgrading.
Watch for
Plan prices on the page read were inconsistent between toggles, so no headline price is recorded.
Score: features 2.0 · free access 0.75 · price published 0.0 · value 0.0
20
Creative learners wanting a flat-rate class library

Subscription class library for creative and business topics with an offline-capable mobile app.

2.8
out of 10
Pricing
Free trial
Free plan
Not published
Free trial
7 days
Paid from
Not published
  • –Certificates
  • –Degrees / credit
  • ✓All-access plan
  • ✓Offline app
  • –Open to instructors
Why #20
Includes a free 7-day trial and offline learning in the app.
Watch for
The membership price is not shown on the membership page.
Read Oct 23, 2026 from skillshare.com/en/membership
Score: features 2.0 · free access 0.75 · price published 0.0 · value 0.0

All 20 side by side

#ProductScoreFree planTrialPaid fromCertificatesDegrees / creditAll-access planOffline appOpen to instructors
1Udemy8.8✓YesNot published$13/mo✓–✓✓✓
2FutureLearn6.9✓YesNot published$349.99/yr✓✓✓––
3Coursera6.8✓Yes7 days$399/yr✓✓✓––
4DataCamp6.6✓YesNot published$14/mo · yearly✓–✓––
5BBC Maestro6.5–Not publishedNot published$120/yr✓–✓✓–
6Udacity6.5✓YesNot published$212/mo✓✓✓––
7Codecademy6.5✓YesOffered, length not stated$14.99/mo · yearly✓–✓––
8Educative6.4✓YesNot published$298/yr✓–✓––
9365 Data Science6.0✓YesNot published$29/mo✓–✓––
10edX5.5✓YesNot published$50 one-time✓✓–––
11Treehouse5.5–Not published7 days$25/mo✓–✓––
12Wondrium (The Great Courses Plus)5.1–Not published7 days$150/yr––✓––
13Zero To Mastery4.8–Not publishedNot published$25/mo · yearly✓–✓––
14Domestika4.6–Not publishedNot published$329/yr✓–✓–✕
15Alison4.5✓YesNot publishedNot published✓––✓✓
16Study.com4.1–Not publishedNot published$59.99/mo–✓✓––
17Great Learning3.5✓YesNot publishedNot published✓✓–––
18upGrad3.5✓YesNot publishedNot published✓✓–––
19Pluralsight2.8–Not published10 daysNot published––✓✓✕
20Skillshare2.8–Not published7 daysNot published––✓✓–

✓ the maker says yes · ✕ the maker's page shows it is not offered · – not published

Head to head

Udemy vs Coursera#1 vs #3 · $13/mo vs $399/yrUdemy vs DataCamp#1 vs #4 · $13/mo vs $14/mo · yearlyUdemy vs Udacity#1 vs #6 · $13/mo vs $212/moCoursera vs DataCamp#3 vs #4 · $399/yr vs $14/mo · yearlyUdemy vs Codecademy#1 vs #7 · $13/mo vs $14.99/mo · yearlyCoursera vs Codecademy#3 vs #7 · $399/yr vs $14.99/mo · yearly

How to choose

What the 20 makers publish

  • 12 of 20 publish a free plan.
  • The lowest published US-dollar entry price is BBC Maestro at $120/yr; the median is $25 a month.
  • 5 do not publish a price at all.
  • Most common confirmed features: Certificates (16) and All-access plan (16).

Check before you pay

  • Decide between one course and an all-access subscription before comparing prices — they are priced differently.
  • Check who issues the certificate: the platform, or the university or company that made the course.
  • Read the refund window before buying a course or an annual plan.
  • Degrees and university credit apply to specific programmes only; confirm on the programme's own page.

How we score

Every fact on this page was read from the maker's own pricing, feature and help pages on Oct 23, 2026 and links to the page it came from. One formula scores every product out of 10; anything a maker does not publish earns nothing, so a hidden price or an unstated limit costs points.

5 pointsShare of the five features below that the maker confirms on its own pages.
1.5 pointsA free plan (0.75 for a free trial instead).
1.5 pointsA published price — or the product is free outright.
2 pointsHow cheap the entry plan is against the other US-dollar monthly or yearly prices in this list. A price in another currency, a one-time fee or a price with no stated period gets the minimum (0.5).
±1.0 maxEditor adjustment, printed on the card with its reason. Commission is never a reason.
The five features: Certificates — Certificates of completion. Degrees / credit — Accredited degrees or university-credit programmes offered through the site. All-access plan — One subscription price unlocks many courses. Offline app — A mobile app with offline downloads. Open to instructors — Anyone can publish and sell a course on it.

Questions

Udemy ranks #1 of 20 with 8.8/10 on our published formula. Anyone can apply to teach, and courses can be viewed offline in the mobile app.

More best-of lists

Best AI Video Generators26 compared · Champion CreatifyBest AI UGC Video & Ad Generators24 compared · Champion CreatifyBest AI Writing Tools26 compared · Champion Junia AIBest Ecommerce Platforms23 compared · Champion Big Cartel